The IT factor

 I just finished reading another book, It – How Churches and Leaders Can Get It and Keep IT  by Craig Groeschel, Senior Pastor of LifeChurch.tv. It is a remarkable book, written with wit and wisdom. Groeschel will make you laugh while he is teaching you one of the most important leadership lessons you’ll ever learn. I was quite surprised to learn that many of the principles in this book, written primarily for Church and Ministry leaders had so many parallels to secular leadership. In fact, the author refers to one of the most widely read books on leadership in the secular world, Good to Great by Jim Collins, several times.

IT is much more complicated (yet simple) than I can explain in a single blog post, but I can tell you that I will be keeping this book handy, whatever path God leads me to. My greatest take-away from it is that you or your ministry cannot get IT or keep IT by consciously plotting or planning to do so. IT requires focus and leadership, knowing what your ministry does well and knowing what is not working. The simplest idea, like having a ‘not to do list,’ can change your entire ministry paradigm. This is definitely a must read!

~ by ddub74 on 30 October 2008.

Leave a comment